Am I a Feminist?

President Trump gave an enthusiastic fist pump as he appeared on the portico to cheers from waiting crowds. Former US Senator Bob Dole and his wife Elizabeth were among the first to see him In the wake of Donald trump’s inauguration, I found myself questioning the one strong belief I have had; that if nothing, I am, and always will be, a feminist. You see, I am not an overtly loud and vocal person who regularly voices their opinion. No, I am the sort of person who is, admittedly, and unfortunately, more of a talker than a walker. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy talking about women’s rights and, equality  between the sexes, because I do, and I have been able to hold my own in debates over the topic. I think the issue is that I am not a brave person, and will never be one of those women who promote and advocate equality to the public; so the question remains, am I a feminist?

1963. The year JFK got assassinated, my dad’s all time favourite film, The Great Escape was released, The Beatles became a thing, and, in the world of feminism, Betty Friedan, the most powerful voice for women the world has ever seen, published The Feminine Mystique, a book that swept through the world, inspiring housewives to get into the workplace, and challenge the stereotypes that had smothered generations of women. After the release of the book, the second wave of feminism began to grow, and left huge shoes to fill for the following generation. But here we are today, with thousands of Women’s March’s going on all over the globe, in protest of Mr Trump’s overall attitude and lack of respect towards women. Scroll through your social media feeds, and you’ll find countless posts and celebrity messages about fighting for equality. Women in Poland fought, and then won a battle regarding a ban for abortion. America almost had a female president. The fight against sexism is truly coming to a forefront in our society, and as a citizen of the global community, I honestly feel like I’m doing nothing.

Related image

Now, I no that I will never be a Betty Friedan or a Rosie the Riveter, Dora Fabian or even Lena Dunham, but it bothers me that there are so many opportunities for me to be an active feminist, and participate in protests, and help out with flyers, or even spread the word, and I am not involved in any of it. How is it that we live in a world that is so connected, yet I seem to be drowning in the nothingness of my own self-pity and philosophical wonderings? Is my destiny to be the girl who argues about rights, but never fights for them?

I know I’m not the only one thinking it either. Discussions with friends and acquaintances have led me to believe that the issue is, indeed, not necessarily fighting for rights, but finding places and mediums to express our need for equality.

I think, however, the answer will not be found by blaming others for this lack of accessibility for areas and times to vocalise my thoughts on abortion, the gender pay gap, inequality between non-white women, and the rest of the world, and much, much more. The answer is, that I, have not been looking hard enough, if at all, for these things.

But, when it comes down to it, although I may not be an influential or dynamic feminist, I am a woman’s rights supporter. This I realised while talking to the other crazy youth (who by the way, is a very active feminist). I may not be radical, or exceedingly liberal, but I sure do love arguing why I am, if anything, an equal to my brother. And it’s nice to say that. In your face Donald Trump, and your ridiculous family.

Please, please comment. I would love to hear your thoughts. This is just the place to voice your opinion.

Love, One Half of the Two Crazy Youths xxxx

 

One thought on “Am I a Feminist?

Leave a comment